Breath and Blood Tests
Information from a Dallas DWI Lawyer
In just about every state, including Texas, the laws surrounding DWI offenses have become tougher. The reason legislation has become stricter toward drunk driving is that so many people are injured or killed by drunk drivers on an annual basis. This has led to the government passing new DWI laws pertaining to harsher penalties. In the state of Texas, people who operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher can be charged with DWI. In the past, the limit was much higher, but due to pressure from anti-drunk driving associations, the legal limit was lowered by legislators.
The term BAC refers to the amount of alcohol an individual has in his/her blood stream. In order to determine what a person's BAC is law enforcement will ask suspected DWI offenders to consent to a breath or blood alcohol test. The test results appear in the form of percentages. For example, if a person has a BAC of 0.02 percent, it means that their blood stream contains 2 percent alcohol.
Understanding Texas Law
In the state of Texas, if a person refuses to take a breath test, his/her driver's license will automatically be suspended by the Texas DMV for six months. If you have been arrested for DWI and your consented to a breath or blood alcohol test, it is important for you to know that these tests are not 100 percent accurate and can be challenged in a court of law.
All too often, people think that because their blood alcohol concentration was 0.08 percent or higher, that they are doomed and they accept defeat. However, an experienced Dallas criminal defense attorney has the knowledge and experience it takes to fight test results that may be inaccurate due to police administration errors, faulty devices or poor testing conditions. Call us today to learn more.