Can I be Accused of Leaving the Scene?
Answers from a Dallas Criminal Defense Lawyer
Any accident on the road, even minor ones, can be frightening. It is easy to become scared, or angry, and continue on in your car. This, however, is considered a crime. Like other states, Texas has strict "hit and run," or leaving the scene laws to ensure that all drivers on the road remain responsible for their actions and take the proper precautions in the case that an accident occurs.
At D'Amore Law Firm, we understand accidents can happen and moments of fear and panic can ensue. If you've been charged with leaving the scene, then we invite you to contact a Dallas criminal defense attorney and explore your legal options. We have more than 20 years of experience in Texas courtrooms and know how to prepare and navigate your case to the best possible outcome.
Call us today.
What penalties am I facing?
Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident can vary. Specifically, they depend on the severity of the accident and damaged caused, whether there was another driver involved, and if people were harmed.
Penalties for leaving the scene charges can include:
- In the case of death or serious injury: Up to 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines
- In the case of injury: Up to 5 years in prison and $5,000 in fines
- In the case of less than $200 damage: Fines up to $500
- In the case of more than $200 damage: Fines up to $2,000 and 180 days of jail
- In the case of damaging parked car: Fines up to $2,000 and 180 days of jail
These are the most common charges related to leaving the scene. To find out what specific sentences you could be facing for your charge, call us at the D'Amore Law firm. We understand that these crimes are often instances of fear, not malice, and are well-versed and asserting that perspective to a judge and jury.
We are ready to help-call now for a free consultation.