A client from Dallas County came to us in a predicament. This client had been issued three counts of felony injury to a child and was facing a potential first degree felony punishment for his crimes. In Texas, causing bodily injury to a child can bring about five to 99 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines. A misdemeanor often involves a much smaller sentence, such as 180 days in jail. In a lot of cases, the difference between a felony charge and a misdemeanor charge means the difference between years in prison or days in jail. This is why it is essential that those with a felony conviction hire an accomplished lawyer to fight for them in court. You will want a successful lawyer to work with you if you are planning to battle your charges and avoid spending a large chunk of your life behind bars.
The Texas Penal Code §22.04 discusses the crime of injuring a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual. A person who commits an offense knowingly, willingly, or recklessly against one of these victims and causes serious bodily or serious mental deficiency, impairment, or injury can be charged with this crime. In Texas, a child must be under 14 years of age to be considered the right age to be a victim in the case. An elderly individual must be over the age of 65 and a mentally or physically disabled person must have medical records to prove his or her condition.
Our client from Dallas was worried that the crime committed might mean years in jail. Thankfully, with the skilled defense of a lawyer from our firm, the client’s sentence was reduced to a misdemeanor, and our client only had to spend 3 days in the county jail. If you are looking for Texas criminal defense that will give you the results you want, try the D’Amore Law Firm We work hard to give our clients case results like this one and see people treated justly when they are caught in a crime that they didn’t commit or don’t deserve to suffer for.