According to the Texas Penal Code Sec. 31.03, theft occurs when a person deprives an owner of their property. The aspects of this case which make the act unlawful are that the property was taken without the owner's consent and they did not have any intention of returning the property to the owner. When our client came to us for help, they were facing misdemeanor theft charges.
In Texas, there are three levels of misdemeanors. For accusations of stealing less than $50 worth of items, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. If you have been accused of stealing between $50 and $500, it is a Class B misdemeanor and if you were accused of stealing property valued between $500 and $1,500, it is a Class A misdemeanor. Our client could have been facing harsh penalties if they had been convicted of theft, but we were able to get their case dismissed!